Chile Politic and Government

Chile Politics

From an administrative point of view, Chile is divided into 13 regions and these in turn are divided into 40 provinces and the provinces divided into municipalities. Santiago de Chile, the capital has a population of 4,385,000 residents, the other large cities are Concepción, Valparaíso, Viña del Mar, Talcahuano, Antofagasta, Temuco and Punta Arenas.

The Chilean government was based on the Constitution of 1925, where the legislative power was adjudicated by a National Assembly of two Chambers. The Chamber of Deputies consisted of 120 members, and the Senate, 47 senators, all elected by suffrage. The regions were under the authority of the governors and both these and those responsible for the provinces were appointed by the president.

After the coup of 1973, political activity was suspended and subsequently banned in 1977. Subsequently, a new Constitution known as the 1980 Constitution was approved, which came into force in 1989 where the executive power is exercised by the president who is elected by popular elections for a period of 4 years and is supported by a presidential cabinet.

Political parties were not legalized again until 1987. In the legislative elections of 1993, the center-left parties (the Christian Democratic Party, the Socialist Party and the Party for Democracy), regrouped within the National Concertation for Democracy, won.

Territorial organization

In October 1978, Chile was politically divided into thirteen regions, subdivided into provinces and these into communes in October 1979. As of 2012, the country had 15 regions, 54 provinces and 346 communes in total.

Each of the regions has a Roman number originally assigned according to their order from north to south, except for the Metropolitan Region of Santiago, established later. With the creation of two new regions in April 2007, the numbering lost that meaning. Due to this, there is a bill in process that seeks to eliminate this type of denomination.

No. Region Capital Surface
XV Arica and Parinacota Arica 16 873.3 km 2
I Tarapacá Iquique 42 225.8 km 2
II Antofagasta Antofagasta 126 049.1 km 2
III Atacama Copiapo 75 176.2 km 2
IV Coquimbo La Serena 40 579.9 km 2
V Valparaiso Valparaiso 16 396.1 km 2
RM Metropolitan of Santiago Santiago 15 403.2 km 2
SAW Liberator General Bernardo O’Higgins Rancagua 16 387.0 km 2
VII Maule Talca 30 296.1 km 2
VIII Bio bio region Conception 37 068.7 km 2
IX The Araucanía Temuco 31 842.3 km 2
XIV The rivers Valdivia 18 429.5 km 2
X The lakes Montt port 48 583.6 km 2
XI General Carlos Ibáñez del Campo Coyhaique 108 494.4 km 2
XII Magellan and Chilean Antarctica Punta Arenas 132 297.2 km 2

Chile Politics